Need feedback: Games and Simulations

050710_will_ilsmallHey everyone,

Interesting things are happening for me in my early post-Kaplan days.  I’ll fill you in on more details in the upcoming days and weeks.  But, what I wanted to talk about was Games and Simulations in the Classroom.  This is a course that I will be developing and teaching for the Graduate School of Marlboro College.  We were thinking about launching it in the summer, but we’re putting feelers out now to see if there is an interest to actually run a group in January.

Let me know what you think by either putting a comment in below or sending me an email at wdebock (at) gmail.com.  Let me know if you think there would be much interest in it generally, and whether you might be interested in signing up for the course yourself.

Here is a rough draft description of the course:

Games and Simulations

Integrate games and simulations into the classroom and instructional design. You don’t have to be a programmer to effectively teach students how to make games and simulations. This course will focus on how to teach programming, math, problem solving, analytical thinking, software engineering and math skills. Students will learn how to make simple games themselves with tools such as Scratch, Code Academy, and Wolfram Alpha and others. Reality Is Broken: Why Games Make Us Better and How They Can Change the World by Jane McGonigal is one of our central texts.

Format: Online with weekly synchronous sessions and other work in between.

 Instructor: Will deBock.

Credits: 3 Graduate Credits.

All feedback is welcome,

autographwill

2 responses to “Need feedback: Games and Simulations

  1. Will sounds Great! You are missing a word in the description should be “how to” you are missing the word “to”. Depending upon the cost of the course I may want to take something like that. Right now I am using simple games like pyramid and jeopardy in PowerPoint with my students to review for exams. But we used to have critical thinking requirements in our courses, not sure if they are still there in our MT class anymore though. Someone took them out in the last re-write. But I still teach them as they are imperative as a MT. Good luck on your course and your new ventures! You are the best if I do say so myself. Blessings for a wonderful holiday season! Kathy

  2. Melanie Kalliosaari

    Hi there,
    I am a middle school librarian and received a second MAT degree through Graduate School of Marlboro College in 2005. Count me in please! Melanie Kalliosaari

Leave a Reply

