Eat by Ian K. Smith, M.D.

So, I’ve been on a bit of a “health kick” over the last six months.  I’ve signed up for Weight Watchers Online; I got my bike tuned up and most days you can find me find me on it for about 45 minutes to an hour.

I don’t want to bore you with the details of my new habits, but I did want to share a book that I stumbled across a few weeks ago: EAT: The Effortless Weight Loss Solution by Ian K. Smith, M.D.  It is not a fad diet, despite its sub-title.  While I certainly am not a health or nutrition expert by any stretch of the imagination (you, of course, should consult your personal healthcare provider for authoritative information), I found that the book was a strong, easy-to-read basic primer on food and nutrition for the lay-person.  Chapters include:

  • Follow the Rainbow
  • Carb Heaven
  • The Whole Truth About Whole Grains
  • Feel Full Fiber
Here’s the first few lines of chapter 1:
Nature has made it easy for us to remember which foods provide the greatest nutritional punch.  Think of the colors of the rainbow.  It’s that simple. Colorful foods are literally packed with all kinds of vitamins, mineral, and other nutrients…  Fruits and vegetables are our greatest sources of health-promoting nutrients; however, we American largely ignore these critical natural health resources.

I like his style — straight forward and clear.  He also has some interesting lists:

Top Ten Antioxidant Fruits (Page 20)
  • Prunes
  • Raisins
  • Blueberries
  • Blackberries
  • Strawberries
  • Raspberries
  • Plums
  • Oranges
  • Red Grapes
  • Cherries
Best Weight-Loss Fruits per Glycemic Index (Page 23)
  • Cherries (raw sour)
  • Grapfruit
  • Apricots (dried)
  • Apples
  • Pears
  • Plums
  • Peaches
  • Kiwi
  • Oranges
  • Grapes
Top 10 Fruits
  • Guava
  • Watermelon
  • Grapefruit, pink or red
  • Kiwifruit
  • Papaya
  • Cantaloupe
  • Orange
  • Strawberries
  • Apricots
  • Blackberries
Top 10 Fruits Source: Nutrition Action Health Letter, May 1998,
from Center for Science in the Public Interest.
Leave a Reply

