Are you a Cyborg?

Anthropologist Amber Case begins her TED Talk with, “I would like to tell you all that you are all actually cyborgs, but not the cyborgs that you think.”  It is definitely thought provoking.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

http://www.ted.com/talks/amber_case_we_are_all_cyborgs_now.html

One response to “Are you a Cyborg?

  1. Will,

    Interesting short talk here! I had never thought of all this technology as creating a form of a wormhole, but it does.

    Unlike many of the people she describes here, I’m not one who carries cell phones and other little gadgets in my pocket. In fact, I don’t own a cell phone, and the only computer I own is a desktop computer. I don’t need a cell phone these days, especially because they are terribly expensive, and I definitely don’t need a cell phone with all these fancy gadgets on them.

    I don’t think it is healthy for people to carry all this technology around with them because they become slaves to it. And why is this? Because I wonder if such people can possibly live their lives without constantly checking their e-mails, their Facebook pages, and other such similar stuff. It is easy to forget that people actually did live lives without all this stuff and for almost all of human history. Did Albert Einstein walk around with a Blackberry in his pocket all the time?

    If I leave the house for a while, one thing I want to do is to take a break from dealing with work and other stuff on the computer. That is, I don’t want to go through life glued to computers 50 hours a day (computers are nice tools, but I don’t want to spend all day behind one). Furthermore, I find a desktop computer far easier to work with than any handheld device because I can’t type with such little devices, and their screens are too little for me to see! No wonder messages sent by cell phones and other such devices are nearly impossible to read.

    Finally, I wonder if computers actually help make us more human because it is easy for people to hide their true personalities and motives and so on online. And my experiences show me that few people are willing to spend much time with strangers online and that they feel they have not really met that person if their only interactions with that person have been online (in other words, they have not met in person). I think that deep down we still ultimately want that face-to-face interaction whenever we can get it. No technology tool can simulate that entirely. Finally, many spam e-mails and other spam messages that appear on social networking sites and discussion boards online are sent by spam bots, not directly by humans. Even the ones sent directly by humans often don’t sound very human to me.

    In short, computers are nice tools, and I enjoy using them. But there is no real substitute for in-person interaction, and so I sometimes need a break from computers.

    Jonathan Groves

Leave a Reply

