Text me the Moon

[Editor’s Note: This article was written by the CTL’s Laurie Hansen.]

Photo taken by E. Hansen via telescope and iPhone 11/12/2010 8:05 pm ET from Boynton Beach, FL.

Astronomy Night at my kids’ science magnet school, hosted by planetarium teacher and MESSENGER fellow, Kris Swanson, provided an opportunity for families to view the night sky through high-powered telescopes.  We saw the Gator star, Pleiades (a.k.a. The Seven Sisters), Earth’s moon, and Jupiter.  (Thanks Mr. Swanson!)

My husband was amused and said he never saw me “geek out” this much — ever.  I was not only excited about how clearly we could see the moon’s craters, but I was also astounded that we actually captured a “NASA-looking” photo on my husband’s iPhone via the eyepiece of the telescope.  Then, he texted it to me, I texted it to a friend and my daughter emailed it to her teacher on the spot.  I wonder what John W. Draper would have thought?

Making iPhone movies, texting space photos… technology never ceases to amaze me.

Leave a Reply

