Diary of a Wimpy Mom

[Editor’s Note: This article was written by the CTL’s Laurie Hansen.]

I am sure it comes as no surprise to you that as an educator and mom, I am a promoter of reading.  I love children’s literature especially the artwork! I have read to my children incessantly through each developmental stage.  Story time is not only a time to learn to read but also an opportunity to sit quietly and kiss little foreheads and fingers between turning pages.

Today I celebrate the pay-off.  Today I caught my kids (10 and 12) snuggling on the couch in their PJs, reading Diary of a Wimpy Kid aloud.  As I type right now, I hear laughter and giggles in the other room.  They take turns reading to each other.  It makes me misty.  Told ya I’m wimpy.

Moral of the story?  Reading is love…

“Children are made readers on the laps of their parents.” ~ Emile Buchwald

2 responses to “Diary of a Wimpy Mom

  1. Reading is love, especially when you’re willing to endure hours of pouring aloud through “Troilus and Cressida” to your 15 yr old each night!

  2. You said it! “Troilus and Cressida” is way more difficit to interpret than “Don’t let the pigeon drive the bus!” Kudos to you, mom!
    🙂
    Laurie

Leave a Reply

