Memory Lane: Format Factory

[Editor’s Note: Occasionally, we will repost a previously published article on the blog. Our community is growing quickly and that means this might be new to a lot of folks. This was originally posted on May 28, 2009.  It was written by Will deBock.  And yes, I still use this program regularly!]

Sometimes you need to convert one file format to another, especially in the world of Web 2.0 technologies.  There certainly are a lot of choices to look at for this functionally — free desktop products, commercial desktop products, shareware (low-cost desktop products) and online free and $ services.  I have looked a number of times and often have gotten confused.  I want low-cost, easy-to-use and simple!

I have found a product that I am going to keep around for a while.  (I ran it through its basic paces, but considering I don’t use it everyday, I didn’t do an all-out product review.)  Format Factory by Freetime seems to do all the regular stuff I need to convert.  For example:

  1. windows media video to flash,
  2. MS Wav audio files to MP3,
  3. Quicktime to mp4 (for ipods and cell phones).

formatfactoryhttp://www.pcfreetime.com/index.html

I’ll see you, in multiple formats, on the web!

autographwill

Leave a Reply

