NaNoWriMo 50,000 Word Novel Challenge!



[Editor’s Note: This article was written by the CTL’s Laurie Hansen.]

Sharpen your pencils!  Belly up to the keyboard!  November 1st starts NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) again.  Let the writing begin!

NaNoWriMo is a “fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to novel writing” where the community goal is to write a 50,000 word (175 page) novel from November 1st to November 30th.  These novels should be original works written by you and only you.

Here are some other tips to get your writing brain cranking:

From the site, “start from scratch”

Finally, if you’re not up for a novel in November, then how about a script in April where the challenge is 30 days and 100 pages?  Sound crazy?  Nah!  It’s a FRENZY!

Are you going to sign up?  Drop us an encouraging word (or 50,000).  We’d love to hear about it!  Write on!

11 responses to “NaNoWriMo 50,000 Word Novel Challenge!

  1. I’m doing it! I just wrote 500 words on this first day. 50,000 is a little too ambitious for me. I’d be happy for 500 words a day. It’s been a while since I’ve written regularly. I also do not write fiction. I’m using this time to work on a creative nonfiction project.

  2. I wrote 1,100 words this morning! I have 600 more words to write tonight after work. I think writing twice a day, an hour in the morning and an hour at night, is going to get me to the 50,000 word count in no time. I was surprised that I wrote 1,100 words in an hour this morning. It’s crazy how much easier it is to write when you don’t worry about spelling, perfection, or perfect plots. I’m surprised by what I have and I’m eager to see where my NaNoWriMo story is going to go…

    Good luck fellow NaNoWriMo’s.

    Cheers,
    Kella

  3. Composition and Writing Center folks are bitten by the NaNo bug. To date, 35 of us are committed to the project! I began a sequel to my novel Karma: Dancing With Destiny, tentatively titled Karma: Gabriel, and the ideas are flowing well. I’ve written the first chapter – 1233 words! Once you start, it’s hard to stop – like eating pistachio nuts. 🙂

  4. Will!

    It would be cool if we could get a gadget keep a collective count of words written by KU NaNoWriMo participants!

    At the very least, sounds like a follow-up article to me!
    Laurie

    • Laurie – Kella mentioned that War Words Widget below. That is a cool one! I have the word count and the graph on my blog. Susan has the names of all the Kaplanites we know about who are doing NaNo, so I’m sure Will (my tech hero) can sort a War Word Widget.

      Off to write!!!

      TK

  5. I love NaNo. It’s an excuse for more coffee.

    I managed 1000 words late afternoon. I’ve settled in now for my evening of writing. I always aim for 2000 a day so if life implodes (last year my brother, SIL, and toddler niece moved in – they are still here) then I have a cushion.

    Hint to my fellow NaNo folks – turn of the automatic spelling/grammar check in your NaNo doc. You won’t try to edit as you type as much then.

    Oh, did I mention Sheryl Bone and I (Dept of Student Success) are blogging about our experience for our students. My blog is above.

    Gonna make another cup of coffee.

    TK

  6. Laurie, great idea! I think some news regarding KU NaNoWriMo participants at the end of the month would be great. It really shows that both KU employees involved with writing for their job (i.e. Writing Center employees) and those not (i.e., me) are working together toward personal goals. A KUNet article, perhaps 🙂

    If anyone is signed up on the official NaNoWriMo site, please post your user name so we can be “buddies.” I already found Kella! My username is Rachael18.

  7. You could use the existing NaNoWriMo word-war widget for all Kaplanites who are participating. I just embedded a widget on my blog this morning too!
    http://www.nanowrimo.org/eng/widgets

Leave a Reply

