A Little Something Creative: Little is big!

[Editor’s Note: This article was written by the CTL’s Laurie Hansen.]

In recognition of all things that are a little creative, here is another in this short series of articles about a little bit of art.

Have you seen the pencil sculptor, Dalton Ghetti’s work?  Ghetti carves interesting figures from teeny, tiny graphite pencil tips.  My daughter showed me photos of his work 10-year-old classmate.  When I saw the
miniscule sculptures, I was in disbelief; I thought they may be CG photos or perhaps altered in Adobe Photoshop.  So… I did what I usually do… I googled him.

Well, it’s hard to believe, but true.  Such talent!  Furthermore, Ghetti refuses to use a magnifying glass and he will not sell his work. He only gives it away to family and friends.  Even more amazing —  in 2002, Ghetti began carving tiny tear drops, one per day for each of the 3,000 lives lost in the September 11th World Trade Center tragedy. Ghetti says, “When I’m done they will form one big tear drop. It will take me about 10 years but it will be worth it.”

Now that’s big.

Leave a Reply

