Green Greens

Back when I was in high school and during my first two years of college, I worked as a groundskeeper at our local country club.  On the surface, it was a beautiful work environment, but as I became familiar with the job, I learned about the inner workings to get those greens so green.  They were verdant, but the green lushness was maintained through a strict chemical regiment applied to the course regularly.  Even back then, I thought it was kind of gross, when I chose to think about it at all.

As Bill Pennington of The New York Times reported in the 8/16/2010 edition of the newspaper, there is a course on Martha’s Vineyard that has gone organic: the Vineyard Gold Club.  The course was opened 8 years ago and has a pretty steep price of admission with a $350,000 initiation fee and annual dues of $12,000 (although cheaper for the actual residents of the island).

Vineyard Golf Club

Pennington writes:

Opened eight years ago, the club is thought to be the only completely organic golf course in the United States, its 18 holes groomed without the use of a single synthetic pesticide, fertilizer, herbicide or other artificial chemical treatment.

I think this is good.

One response to “Green Greens

  1. Will,

    Interesting article here, especially because I like golf, too! I don’t get to play it anymore because it’s too expensive, but maybe someday I can get back into the game. I never knew how greens are maintained except that I know they require an average of 30 minutes of work daily. I remember reading that in a golf magazine (either “Golf Magazine” or “Golf Digest”) back in high school when I had subscribed to those magazines. There was something in there in one of those magazines giving some idea of what it would be like to maintain a putting green in your own yard, and it mentioned that such maintence would require about an average of 30 minutes a day. I don’t think the article gave all the details of how to maintain a green, just some idea of what that would take.

    A completely organic golf course! Yay! Why don’t we have more of those courses? Why can’t Vineyard Golf Course get others to buy into their ideas for maintaining golf courses using 100% natural materials? You might not know the answer to these questions, but I would still be interested in the answers if anyone knows. However, I won’t be playing there anytime soon because I can’t afford those steep fees. And I thought that joining a golf club for $10,000 was expensive!

    Jonathan Groves

Leave a Reply

