Hidden Treasure: The IL Book Discussion Group.

In January 2009, I had an idea.  I wanted to talk with my faculty colleagues more.  Not just day-to-day stuff, no, I wanted to talk about ideas and concepts, as well as talk about stories and art.  On March 10th 2009, the first meeting of the IL Book Discussion took place as we tackled Malcolm Gladwell’s Outliers.  Since then we have read and discussed all sorts books in lots of genres.  Here are a few that pop into my head:

Just this month we discussed a neat memoir called Little Heathens by Mildred Armstrong Kalish.  It was about growing up during the Great Depression in a farming community in Iowa.  It was a good read.

On Sept 14th, we will be discussing The Jekyl Island Club by Brent Monahan.

The neat thing is that the faculty who participate in the discussion choose the next book.  Keeps it fresh!

One response to “Hidden Treasure: The IL Book Discussion Group.

  1. My cousin may actually be part of this book club b/c she was who suggested I read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (lol, too funny). I was wondering, though, how was The Shack?

Leave a Reply

