Seven Stages of a Social Media Strategist

Steve Radick, an Associate with Booz Allen Hamilton, wrote an interesting piece last year called “The Evolution of a Social Media Strategist.” The seven stages that he identified are:

  1. The Opportunist
  2. The Idealist
  3. The Pessimist
  4. The Workaholic
  5. The Egoist
  6. The Teacher
  7. The Leader

I don’t know if I buy Radick’s schema as universal, but a lot of it rang true to me.  I know well the Idealist and Pessimist stages!  🙂

2 responses to “Seven Stages of a Social Media Strategist

  1. Thanks Will – appreciate the shout-out and glad you liked the post. I think everyone’s experience will differ, but most people have at least been able to relate to these stages in that they know someone who exhibits these traits.

    • Thanks Steve. Self-reflection is a big part of the learning process, and that is what I liked about your post. It made me reflect on my evolution in teaching with new social technologies.

      Will

Leave a Reply

