An interesting post on “tech literacy” by a Math Professor

050710_will_ilsmallThis blog article “Technology Skills We Should Be Teaching in College” by @busynessgirl, a Math Professor at Muskegon Community College, was making the tweet/re-tweet rounds on twitter today.

The list (60 items long) may seem daunting, but it is worth taking a look at.  If only for the fact that, in my opinion, “technology literacy” is something that colleges and universities should take a hold of as part of their educational mission.  Tech literacy is, broadly speaking, a general education requirement in the 21st century.  And we are the teachers… 🙂

The list made me think, and that’s always a good thing.  I liked that it had specifics and more general categories like “presentations” and “organization.”

Oh yeah, some Math faculty may want to dig around in her site.  According to her tweets she is doing some interesting stuff like mashing together Wolfram Alpha computational “searches” and Jing…  mighty interesting!

autographwill

2 responses to “An interesting post on “tech literacy” by a Math Professor

  1. Very interesting, Will! Perhaps a Technology Across the Curriculum (TAC) initiative is needed!

  2. I agreed with the comment that most professors do not have all these skills, so how can we expect them to be taught?

    Then I wondered how many were superfluous and how many were vital to functioning in a tech society and getting a great career position.

    Some on the list jumped out at me and I said inside my own head, “I wish I knew how to use that!” I wonder if we could turn some into GEMs?

    You made me think!
    You’ve done your job!
    JoAnn Funk

Leave a Reply

