Daniel Pink’s TED Talk on Motivation

This is really a very interesting talk.  Pink tackles the mismatch between what social science knows about motivation and incentives and what businesses actual do.  Really quite a fascinating talk.

My  mind immediately goes to what happens in the classroom and what we intend to teach in college rooms (virtual and non-virtual) across the country and across the world.  Really quite interesting to think about.

Here is Daniel Pink’s July 2009 TED talk:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

line

A few months ago our Kaplan group discussion group read and talked about Daniel Pink’s A Whole New Mind.  It was a pleasant surprise for me.  I didn’t have a lot of expectations for the book, because the whole right brain/left brain idea left me suspcious. Also, I have a strong lay understanding of neuroscience and I wasn’t sure what this book was going to add to my knowledge.

What surprised me was how practical, inspirational and motivational the book was.  Each section had a “portfolio” section with a list of activities to do.  Really cool stuff.  I created a ToDo list, essentially a Whole New Mind personal curriculum for my own benefit.

Here are some of the things that I have accomplished:

And somethings I have left to do include:

  • READ and DO: Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain
  • DO: Listen to Symphonies (TODO)
  • READ: Frankl’s “Man’s Search for Meaning.”
  • DO: Activity: Find local labyrinths to walk.

I’ll see you on the web!

autographwill

Leave a Reply

