Innovations Lab IQ

050710_will_ilsmallHey!  It’s Will.  A couple weeks ago I was playing with a number FlashCard Makers (I think the one I demoed was FlashCard Machine) and I had a lot of fun with it.  But it really just whetted my appetite.  So when Melissa posted this comment below, I knew I would have some more things to experiment with after September 1st.

MelissaHave you looked at Hot Potatoes? http://hotpot.uvic.ca/

“The Hot Potatoes suite includes six applications, enabling you to create interactive multiple-choice, short-answer, jumbled-sentence, crossword, matching/ordering and gap-fill exercises…”

I have seen products developed with this that include embedded video. The website is announcing a “freeware version for all users” scheduled for release on September 1st, 2009, which is just around the corner ;)

Today I downloaded the freeware version of Hot Potatoes and played around with it a bit.  I created three Innovations Lab fun IQ exercises.

  1. A quiz
  2. A matching exercise
  3. A crossword puzzle

The outputs of the program are standard HTML pages (with heavy javascript for those who are interested), so I believe that they could be uploaded directly into Doc Sharing in a classroom.  I haven’t tested that yet, but I am sure if I put this out there, so folks will test it out too.

Click here or on the image below to take the “Innovations Lab IQ Fun Exercises.”

iliq_001If there is interest, I could do an IL Live Event on the topic or maybe some JingCasts.  Let me know if there is interest out there.

I’ll see you on the web!

autographwill

Leave a Reply

