Nine great reasons why teachers should use Twitter

050710_will_ilsmallI came across this blog article by Laura Walker and I liked it: Nine great reasons why teachers should use Twitter.  Written more from a K-12 traditional classroom teacher perspective, I still think it captures principles for online College teachers also.

Here is the list:

  1. Together we’re better
  2. Global or local: you choose
  3. Self-awareness and reflective practice
  4. Ideas workshop and sounding board
  5. Newsroom and innovation showcase
  6. Professional development and critical friends
  7. Quality-assured searching
  8. Communicate, communicate, communicate
  9. Getting with the times has never been so easy!

And here is an excerpt from the article from rule #1, “Together we are better”:

Teaching can be a lonely business. … not enough conversations between teachers I work with are about learning. We simply don’t have time. Twitter can be like a virtual staffroom for me, which I can step into when it suits me: in the queue at the supermarket or waiting for for the kettle to boil. I know that within seconds I can access a stream of links, ideas, opinion and resources from a hand-picked selection of global professionals.

I’ll see you on the web!

autographwill

Leave a Reply

