Presentation Zen: Making presentations the TED way.

050710_will_ilsmallHave you ever seen any of the TED videos?  If you haven’t you should.  Really.  TED is a conference that brings leaders and visionaries together.  The presentation style is unique: most presenters get 18 minutes to do their presentation.  (Actually there are shorter slots too: 6 minutes, I believe.)

Garr Reynold’s blog, Presentation Zen, posted a cool article on making presentations the TED way.

Two cool things about this post.

A. “The TED Commandments” which include:

  • Thou Shalt Not Simply Trot Out thy Usual Shtick.
  • Thou Shalt Reveal thy Curiosity and Thy Passion.
  • Thou Shalt Remember all the while: Laughter is Good.

2. He lists links to various TED talks that demonstrate varied but effective presentation styles. For example:

There is more at Presentation Zen.  Definitely worth checking it out.

And just for fun, here is Seth Godin’s Feb. 2009 TED Talk:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I’ll see you on the web!

autographwill

2 responses to “Presentation Zen: Making presentations the TED way.

  1. Annesa Hartman

    Presentation Zen is a great book – I’ve read it and applied its principles to my own PowerPoints and presentation style. Last year I did a conference presentation with a “bullet-less” PP – only pictures and headers – it was fun (but I had lots of speaker notes!), and I think the participants were more involved in what “I” had to say rather than my slides.

  2. That’s very cool Annesa! I haven’t read the book yet, but have heard great things.

    I wrote an article about Pecha Kucha last year.

    “A pecha kucha presentation consists of 20 PowerPoint slides, 20 seconds per slide, for a total presentation time of 6 minutes, 40 seconds.”

    https://innovationslab.wordpress.com/2008/04/27/pecha-kucha/

    I always wanted to try that! Maybe an online Pecha Kucha fest someday.

    Will

Leave a Reply

