Book Review: gOld

[Editor’s Note: This article was written by the CTL’s Laurie Hansen.]

“Everybody has a story,” says Harry J. Getzov, author of gOld and former Jerky Boys manager. His blog, Taking the Scenic Route, stresses the importance of life in the slow lane. Harry’s recent travels have led him to a new endeavor of interviewing elders around the world. Harry has interviewed famous icons such as Ernest Borgnine, Jerry Vale and Louise Hay, as well as, everyday folk.  Whether famous or not, each elder conveys a valuable message, pure inspiration.

I recently had the golden opportunity to interview Harry.  During our conversation, he insists that we notice our elders and honor their value.   Harry’s collection of interviews is proof that our elders hold a treasure for us all.  How do we unlock this treasure?  “Take the moment to sit down and ask [an elder] a question … I promise you; you are in for a treat!”

See more information on Harry’s site Eldercation,   Watch interviews on Eldercation’s YouTube Channel.

Listen to my interview with Harry J. Getzov below!

5 responses to “Book Review: gOld

  1. Laurie,
    Well done! You are a natural at interviewing!
    Having spent a great deal of time with my mother at her assisted care facility and chatting with many of the residents over several years, I totally agree with Harry that elders have so much wisdom to share if only we would listen. His comments about the struggle between body and spirit as one ages was my “aha” moment from the interview. Thanks for asking the right questions to elicit such profound responses.
    What’s next on “The Laurie Show?” :-)

    Ellen

  2. Ellen,

    Thanks so much! I really enjoyed the interview. Hmmmm….The Laurie Show..has a nice ring to it! LOL!

    Thank you for your never-ending support, my friend!

    Laurie

  3. Pingback: Thank You! « Innovations Lab

  4. Hello Laurie,

    I loved your interview and the book Harry wrote. It shows his sensitivity and his respect for our older adults. He has an amazing message!

    Working so extensively with the older population (one of my favorite group of people!) I have had the opportunity to hear amazing stories and how resilient we are as individuals. Our elders do have a story to tell and a message to the rest of us. Harry has been able to bring to us these stories in Gold and I am thankful for that. I do not have the book, yet! I will definitely get it. His message resonates very much with my own philosophy.

    I agree with Ellen. When is the next interview in The Laurie Show?
    You are a natural!!!

    I wish you a beautiful day,

    Ligia/12

  5. Yay! Thanks so much for sharing this with me. I’m with Ligia, these are my favorite folks on the planet. Perhaps this is why I go around trying to adopt everyone else’s grandparents. :)

Leave a Reply

