A Time Capsule for Future Students: VoiceThread

050710_will_ilsmallOK.  This feels a little vain, but I am going to post it anyway.  Below is a voicethread project that my students and I did together.  The idea is that we would make “time capsule” for future students taking my class.  A greeting from my former students to my future students.  A way of “paying it forward” as it were.  Here is the rough cut of it.  I have to admit, I am pretty pleased.  This “idea” could be used in a number of different ways.  I am sure I haven’t thought of them all.

It is hard to read the text in this small version, but here is a link to a larger version of the presentation.

Enjoy.  And I’ll see you on the web!

autographwill

7 responses to “A Time Capsule for Future Students: VoiceThread

  1. Sherrie Mitchell

    Will,

    I am so very impressed with the voicethread software!! I would like to play with it and use it in my classroom!!

    I finally was able to shrink my picture to put it in the right place for my announcement!!

    You are doing an excellent job with the IL and I know that you will continue to share these new technologies with your colleagues!! You should have a seminar on the Voicethread software!!!

    Sherrie

    • Thanks Sherrie.

      The good news is that we already have a Live Event (seminar) scheduled on VoiceThread this month. :-) It will led by a group of Innovations Lab fellows who have been working with VoiceThread in their classrooms! It should be great!

      The session is on Sept. 16th at 1 PM ET.

      Here is a link to the CTL website. http://intranet.kaplan.edu/CTL/Pages/default.aspx At the bottom of this page there is a calendar of events. As you will see, there is a lot going on!

      Will

  2. Laurie Patti-Dillon

    Will,

    For lack of a better expression and at the risk of sounding like a text-crazed teen- “OMG!!! This is so awesome!!!” I hope you don’t mind if we borrow this idea for the training courses. What an excellent gift for students to pay forward. You never cease to amaze me!

    Thanks sooooo much!!!

    Laurie PD

  3. Will,
    How very cool! Your new students will love this! I’m sure many of the new students will want to part of the next time capsule…and on it goes.

    I am just getting into using Voice Thread and would love to hear how other faculty are using it in their classrooms. Maybe it’s one of those ideas they could share in the monthly GEM meetings.
    Ellen

  4. Hi Will: I’ve been a fan of your for a long time, but I’ve been afraid of trying out “new” technology. I listened to several of your presentations over various things such as Voice Thread, but did not really know where to begin. Without a “how to” guide, I felt totally out of the loop, like everyone else at KU was WAY ahead of me!Recently, I downloaded Jing and now I have a bit more confidence. I now want to learn morea about Voice Thread. I really liked the VT you and your former students recorded. (Did the students record their own VTs and send them to you as URLs to include in the one I just listened to?) I have already requested more information from VT and hope to sign up soon. Thank you for introducing me to a whole new world I didn’t know existed. I just wish that the Innovations Lab had a few sessions for us VERY novice wannabe teckies in a “how to” manual style. Thanks again for your wonderful encouragement to all of us at KU.
    Sincerely,
    Jan

  5. I would first like to say that this is going to help me with my assignment in CM220 this term. Although I do not understand how the Voice Thread works, I think that the concept is brilliant. My assignment is based on “Paying it Forward” and I believe that in the tech day-in-age that is current, this is the best idea for an instructor to pay it forward for future students.
    Thank you
    Nicci Stevens

Leave a Reply

